Top 10 Ways You Know You Are a Pet Parent | #9

Bailey Pooping

Photo: Erin

Here’s today tip on how you know you’re a pet parent.

#9:  The frequency, size, and texture of your dog’s poop is a regular topic of discussion between you and your spouse.

It’s true.  S and I are constantly informing each other of whether or not Bailey pooped during her last walk, how much she pooped, and if it was unusually wet or dry.  We even have a phrase for when Bailey goes more than usual: epic poop day!  S will call or text me to tell me that Bailey had an epic poop day, and when she does, we share Bailey’s sense of relief because all pipes have been cleared.

I know it sounds silly, and it may seem like I have a fascination with this topic (see here and here), but on a more serious note, it’s important to be aware of any changes to your dog’s bowel movement.  Changes can point to illnesses or parasites (luckily, I’ve never had to deal with this!), or their inability to digest new foods if you are trying to switch to a new brand.  There was a period when Bailey’s stool was extremely dry and crumbly, which made me wonder if she was dehydrated, but I think it was just the food we were giving her.

While we’ve never had a major issue, I like to compare it to parents who have to keep in communication about changing their kid’s diaper – communication just keeps things running smoothly, so to speak.

Missed last week’s tip on being a pet parent?  Check out #10.

One thought on “Top 10 Ways You Know You Are a Pet Parent | #9

  1. Nice action shot of Bailey there.

    Randy and I have daily conversations about Ozzie’s poo also. Sometimes when Ozzie poos a big & solid one, I feel proud of him hehe

Your comments welcomed